h1

Letter #1: Rookie Season

October 1, 2010

Dear friends, family, and anyone else who may care,

I write to you today with a heavy heart. Kidding, for some reason I’ve just always wanted to say that. I do write you today to tell you I will no longer be writing on the K-West blog. Many of you are holding your breath, hoping…praying I didn’t lose my job. Good news: I’m still employed. Bad news: I’m starting my own blog. It’s not really bad news, but it made the good news have a more dramatic ending.

You may ask yourself, why in the world would she want to start a blog? I’ve asked myself this same question. Here’s what I’ve come up with thus far:

  • to record my first year of real world for me
  • to track my travels (I’ll be traveling for at least 7 weeks to cities and campuses)
  • to deal with obstacles individually, then publicly allow others to benefit
  • to allow friends, family, Kamp family and strangers be part of my rookie season
  • to build relationships through being personal and REAL
  • most importantly, to make people laugh!!!

I’m not convinced any of these reasons are good enough to qualify me as a blogger, nevertheless, I stand before you proclaiming myself part of the blog world. I’ll begin documenting my rookie season of life now. Become a fan at your own risk. Goals: 1) Selfishly: to remember half the places and people I see in the next six months as well as lessons I learn and things the Lord teaches me. 2) Inclusively: to share insight into the ups and downs of the transition into real life while allowing anyone who cares to travel the country with me.

If you can’t figure out why I’ll be traveling, stay tuned…you’ll be enlightened soon enough.

So here I stand. It’s my rookie season in this thing called life. I don’t have a multi-year contract or a solid fan base like the veterans in the league do. I’m just working hard daily, hoping it pays off in the long run. Being as faithful in the little things as I can be. This blog can serve as my rookie season baseball card. Hopefully it will become more and more valuable to you, but mainly to me, with time. I look forward to this journey.

Signed,

The Self-Proclaimed Blogger

5 comments

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


  2. Excited about your new blog…hopefully you update this one more than the last one 🙂 Love you!


  3. I like the “rookie season” thing, it’s funny and catchy


  4. […] look forward to keeping my eye on my mileage throughout the rest of my rookie year…too bad I can’t go to the World Series if I play well at the end of the season. Stay […]


  5. […] of life, it will be easier to prioritize.” Hah. I told myself wrong. Here I am in the midst of my rookie year in life, and I’m not hitting at a very good average in your department (clearly with the Rangers at 0-2, […]



Leave a Reply

