h1

Letter #2: Goodbye Branson

October 2, 2010

Dear apartment, my office and Branson,

Well, it’s been nice knowing you.

On Monday, I go on trail. You have no idea what I’m talking about, so let me explain. Trail is short for Winter Trail, also known as Kanakuk Movie Tour. It’s part of what happens at Kanakuk Kamps in the off season. This is our opportunity to travel college campuses to inform students about Kanakuk and how they can be part of this ministry. Once they’re informed, we do interviews at 125+ campuses to make up our summer staff of 2,000+ employees. Trail is how we come up with, in my opinion and in many other’s opinions as well, Kanakuk’s greatest asset: our staff.

I’m not sure who thought it would be a good idea to let me be part of this process but somebody did, so I’ll be traveling for essentially the next two months. *Insert reason addressing this letter the way I did.*

My apartment and office (pictures to come) have been my primary dwelling places for the last month (hard to believe I’ve been employed for a month). However, I literally told the people I work with at the office goodbye on Friday for a couple months, and I will soon become a visitor to my own home.

Of course, it’s just my luck that the weekend before I leave worked best for my parents to come visit me in Shady B (endearing term for Branson). I’ve been piecing together furniture for my apartment, all of which was in Oklahoma, so they pulled a trailer to bring it. My apartment is (not completely empty anymore) furnished!! Things are slightly in order…just as I head out on the road.

Why come all the way to Branson just to be my personal moving service?! My parents made their travels a mini-vaca of sorts as well. So, we went for the epitome of the Branson experience: Dolly and the Dixie Stampede. “Pegs, pegs, we need more pegs” and Noah. And to see these guys (enough said). Three shows in a weekend…I don’t even go on the Strip three times a month. All three were a good time, and I had a blast with my parents and grandma. Thanks for a good run guys.

Branson, thank you for a great last weekend for awhile. I’m sure we’ll meet again soon.

Office, I’ll miss the people way more than I’ll miss sitting between your four white walls.

Apartment, thanks for being patient with me in the first month of our relationship. Take care of yourself in my absence and be clean when I drop in for a visit in the next couple months.

See ya when I see ya,

Your soon to be MIA tenant

Leave a Reply

