h1

Letter #8: Truths of Traveling

October 8, 2010

Dear traveling,

You are WAY more tiring than I ever dreamed, but I think I like you even more than I thought I would. A normal day involves wake-ups between 6 or 7 a.m., interviewing for 5-6 hours, grabbing lunch with old staff, hitting the road for the next college, doing a show to tell another campus about camp, interviewing until about midnight, waking up and doing it all over again.**If I take a bit to get back to return a phone call, text or e-mail, this is why.** The schedule you’ve given me is taxing, but I truly have loved it thus far.

I love meeting and interviewing new people everyday. It’s amazing what can happen in a 30 minute conversation (ok, let’s be honest, I’m long-winded, and always go over). I have had the opportunity to challenge, care about, listen to and encourage college girls these past few days, but I’ve also been challenged and encouraged by them. Hearing people’s stories, struggles and joys is one of my favorite things to do, and you allow me to do it everyday.

I love seeing camp friends in real life. It baffles me daily that my job allows me to see and keep up with some of my favorite people in the world. The truth is, if it weren’t for your role in my life this year, I may never have seen some of these people again. Thanks for letting me catch up with old friends, have challenging conversations, sing camp songs at the top of our lungs, tell stories and laugh a ton!

I love getting to see new places on a daily basis (tune in tomorrow for my take on Auburn University). You are allowing me to see and experience places I would never see otherwise. I don’t think I could appreciate this opportunity more.

This is only the beginnings of our interactions this year. I look forward to many more adventures. I’d appreciate it if you could train my body to live like I’m in college again because that’s the lifestyle and sleep schedule I’m currently living.

Today, I’m experiencing the flight side of you. Dallas, here I come. I’ll be visiting the Kanakuk Staff Reunion, the Texas State Fair and Village Church.

Over and out,

Your biggest fan

2 comments

  1. see, I told you travelling is a rough life!


  2. See, I told you it is a tough life! Enjoy! 🙂



Leave a Reply

