h1

Letter #9: War **** Eagle!

October 9, 2010

Dear Auburn,

Man oh man, am I a fan of you?! I’ve been told for years you are similar to Stillwater and Oklahoma State, and I was not disappointed. Similar size. Similar looks. Similar people: friendly. I LOVE this place.

Your campus is beautiful. I enjoyed walking through it…especially because it reminds me so much of walking through OSU during my college days. One of your Student Recruiters is a good friend of mine. She took me to the top of Haley. From there I could see the entire campus (opening picture). My trip to visit you wouldn’t have been the same without this Eagle’s Nest experience.

I visited your famous Toomer’s corner and got the renowned lemonade…it was good, but a bit overpriced. I loved hearing the history of the corner. After an Auburn victory, everyone comes to toilet paper the entire corner. Apparently, it looks like it snowed. Fun fact: Auburn is the only city in AL (maybe the nation) to have toilet paper clean up built into their annual budget. Glad I got to experience the legendary corner, and now I’ll understand that Alabama didn’t toilet paper Auburn’s campus if I ever see the corner on TV.

Mamma Goldberg’s, Big Blue Bagel, Amsterdam’s and Chill all came highly recommended, and somehow I was able to eat at every single establishment (weight gain may be a bit of a concern on this journey?!). All were good; Big Blue was my fav…the tiger melt with bagel chips!

All the site-seeing and food tasting was great, but the highlight of my trip was definitely the company. You have some stellar students attending your campus by the way, and somehow I’ve been blessed to get to be friends with some of them. I hadn’t seen some of these girls in a year or two, and we were able to pick up right where we left off. This is simply evidence that friendships rooted in the Lord are genuine. Highlight of the trip: catching up and laughing with old friends. **P.S. Can you do me a favor? Let them get enrolled in the proper classes so they don’t have to take summer school and can come back to kamp. Thanks.**

I’d also like to point out that I’m two for two in my traveling goal challenge (check out my goal here). Never in a million years did I think I’d get to be a model, but this week I have become a college t-shirt model! I’m looking forward to shouting “War Eagle” at people when I wear my new shirt!

The only other anomaly was finally seeing these sorority dorms you people speak of all the time. I’m from Oklahoma where we have sorority houses, and this was and still is a foreign concept to me…so much so that I’m writing an entire letter to sorority dorms.

It’s still a bit surreal I experienced you and my friends in real life, but I enjoyed every second of it. Thanks for welcoming me with open arms, admitting my friends to your Alma mater when they were freshmen allowing us to be friends now and for having a cute mascot, Aubie, and an even cuter quarterback, Cam Newton!

I’ll miss ya,

WAR **** EAGLE’s newest fan

2 comments

  1. your letters are CRACKING ME UP…. i love this 🙂 so creative, so lindsay, so fun! love you friend and praying you keep being enlightened on this journey!!!!! xo


  2. Please note in your picture with Caroline Davidson that you still have the sticker on your shirt.



Leave a Reply

