h1

Letter #10: Reunions-when did they become fun?!

October 10, 2010

Dear Kanakuk Staff Reunion,

When I was a kid, I hated any type of reunion. You had to dress up, remember people’s names and be on your best behavior. I can’t remember exactly what age, but there was a time when reunions transitioned from the dreaded event to a looked forward to event. It was probably when I realized that some of the best (and unfortunately worst) food you’d ever taste would be at them, and you got to hang out with some cool people. Let’s be honest, it was likely because I was most excited about the food.

I was really excited to fly to Dallas for you. Forget the food, your perk was definitely the people. Not many jobs in life do you get to fly from hanging out with your friends to hang out with more of your friends. There are people out there…specifically my dad…wondering, does she even work? I promise I really do work, but somehow part of my job is to hang out with really great people. You brought way fun people together for a night of fellowship, reminiscing and raffle giveaways and reminded me once again of how deep camp friendships run.

Upon arrival, I scoped out your table of goods being raffled off and found the sweetest orange shoes ever. Now, I would never buy these (we all know I’m way to cheap and practical for that), but getting these for free would be a clutch move. However, since I’m an employee I was ineligible to win them, but my sweet friend (this girl) ended up winning them (it wasn’t even rigged, it was fate) and gave them to me. Check out this awesome wardrobe addition…Go Pokes!

There was a point in time I learned to make the most of reunion opportunities, and I am grateful I learned to value you long ago. I’ll always enjoy the food and free stuff given away at events like this, but the reminiscing that gets to happen is priceless. Thanks for good times with great friends and for bringing me to Dallas early…my first ever Texas State Fair experience is happening today!

Appreciating reunions,

Proud owner of orange clown shoes

2 comments

  1. love reading your blog and keeping up with all of the FUN you are getting to experience! I can’t imagine a more perfect, fullfilling job for you Linds and am so excited to read up on your blog about all that it entails!
    ps… this blog is not a replacement for actual phone chats and face to face contact! just keep that in mind!


  2. I made the blog! (yes, I am reading all of the movie tour tonight. nbd.)



Leave a Reply

