h1

Letter #12: Low Maintenance…Me?!

October 12, 2010

Dear Packing,

This was my question for you a week ago:

How do you expect me to pack for two weeks in a carry-on (had to fly) for a job I know very little about (first road trip for my new job) in the most fickle weather season of life (40 at night and 85 in the day)?

You know I’m a planner so I pack too much. What if it rains? What if it gets cold….but wait, what if I get hot? I might want to go on a run. What if we eat at a nice restaurant? What if I get asked out on a date while I’m away?! Completely kidding on that last one, but I like to be prepared.

The challenge was before me and one week in, I’d like you to know I owned you.

Two weeks. One carry-on (you know I wasn’t paying the $25 to check a bag). One work bag. One purse (or a Mountainsmith that is basically another suitcase).

Here are my tricks:

  1. Layers: the key to temperature issues. Always have a way to cool off or warm up by adding or removing a piece of clothing. Cardigans are perfect for this. Embrace wearing the same sweater multiple times.
  2. Choose a color: black wardrobe=black shoes. I brought two pairs of shoes-running shoes and black sandals. The sandals may be worn out before I return to Branson, but they served their purpose.
  3. Embrace the repeat: different locations; different people. Wear the outfits from week one again on week two…nobody will ever know…unless you have a blog and pictures blatantly rat you out!

Typically, the process of completing you before a trip stresses me out. It didn’t even phase me this time because I remembered clothes really aren’t that big of a deal. At the end of the day, who really remembers what someone wore the last time they saw one another? The compliments we get in the moment of dressing our best are fun, but we forget them quickly. Girls, think about this one…it’s true.

If I owned you round one, I can’t wait to see how good I get by week 12 of traveling. I just need to remember these three things:

  • Less is more.
  • Find confidence in self, not clothes.
  • When in doubt, borrow from a friend on the road.

 

See you soon for our next trip,

Low maintenance

 

Leave a Reply

