h1

Letter #19: Life Lessons from OSU

October 19, 2010

Dear Oklahoma State University…my Alma mater!

It’s good to be home. You have hands down been my favorite campus to attend, but then again I am a bit biased. I’ve enjoyed every other campus for sure, but the second I drove into Stillwater it felt like home. It is Homecoming week, so maybe that has something to do with it too. Regardless, home is a good feeling!

I definitely learned about my major during my time spent with you, but I learned far more life lessons during my four years of college (still unsure how I finished without a victory lap) than I ever dreamed.

You taught me loyalty. I guarantee I’ll be cheering on the Cowboys whether we are 0-6 or 6-0 and bowl eligible. I’ve seen us go to the Final Four, and I’ve seen us lose first round of the NIT. Either way, Cowboy fans tend to be loyal, and I am one of them.

You taught me to enjoy people for their differences. I don’t know if I had ever been surrounded constantly by such a hodge podge of people until college. You taught me to love and enjoy those like me and those completely opposite of me in ways you’ll never know.

You taught me time management. Your Homecoming is definitely the largest in the nation, and as a freshman in the Greek community, I quickly realized this. I had no time to transition. I was immediately in 14 hours of class, pledging Kappa Delta, playing intramurals, figuring out who I was and who my friends were and “pomping” 10-12 hours a week. Somehow I got it all done, made memories I’ll never forget and learned to balance way more than I ever thought I could. To this day, efficiency of my time is important, and I believe it’s rooted in lessons I learned in my undergrad. I’m also really great at turning tissue paper, chicken wire and glue into a masterpiece…let me know if you have a need for this skill.

You taught me to own my own faith. Five and a half years ago, I came to college not having a clue of what I really believed to be true. I had been told a ton growing up by family and friends, but I was clueless as to what the Bible claimed to be true and had never made my faith my own. During my time on your campus, I stepped away from the comfort of home, church and friends and was able to begin to discover my personal belief system and figure out why I believed in Jesus.

You were a huge step in me growing up and becoming independent. Thanks for teaching me. I will forever be ‘loyal and true…to my Alma mater…O-S-U!

Go Pokes,

Grateful Alumnae

Leave a Reply

