h1

Letter #26: Empty Stadium Moments-UT

October 26, 2010

Dear University of Tennesee,

Just when I think I’ve seen the most beautiful campuses possible, I’m greatly surprised. Beautiful campus. Located in an even more beautiful state. The state of Tennessee’s autumn might be the best I’ve seen. When I was awakened by the brightest lightning of life, it was evident that the weather did not quite cooperate with my time in Knoxville. Nevertheless, you were good to me.

I saw some really fun and beautiful places on your campus and in your town. If I ever end up living in Tennessee, I could do Knoxville. I loved World Fair Park and Market Square. You are just a really quaint place with some really fun amenities and entertainment options. My one regret is that I didn’t walk into Pat Summit’s office and meet her just for the heck of it.

Every campus I’ve gone to, I’ve gotten to spend great time with some fun friends. You didn’t fail me. I’m not sure if you’re aware, but you’ve got some really neat students.

You win the award for campus where I had the craziest adventure! Confession: I broke into your stadium. It was AWESOME! Not to mention, I’m also now more intrigued by Peyton Manning than I was before after seeing his Alma mater! You are my first SEC stadium to set foot in, and you are massive. Neyland Stadium houses 102,000+ people on gameday. There I stood in the stands alone. As I was standing there taking in this moment (ok Kyle was with me, but basically alone), I couldn’t help but think about the Lord. We live in the midst of a crazy, loud, distracting world, and I get caught up in it so easily. My life is typically consumed by madness similar to a full stadium. I never seem to slow down. Standing in your empty stadium, I was reminded that I serve an audience of One. One day, all the people and things of this world will be gone from my life, and I will stand before the Lord alone. I’ve got to fight for more empty stadium moments with the Lord. Neyland Stadium, thanks for the reminder.

UT-Knoxville, the pleasure was all mine. East Tennessee, I’ll be here all week…continue to bless us with a beautiful autumn.

Go Vols,

Seeker of empty stadium moments

P.S. Remember the comment made in ‘The Blindside’ about Neyland Stadium being built on a body farm?! It’s true…I confirmed it from a legitimate source.

One comment

  1. […] 635.1 miles: Branson-University of Tennesse (Knoxville) […]



Leave a Reply

