h1

Letter #31: Halloween-The Best of Creativity

October 31, 2010

Dear Halloween,

You are a strange holiday, but I really appreciate you. You never cease to bring out the world’s ‘classiest people,’ but I love that you encourage creativity. Kids get to brainstorm and dream about what they are going to dress up as for months in advance then get to make it happen. My favorite costumes are the out-of-the-box, thoughtful ones (best I saw this year: homemade Mario, Luigi and Princess Peach!)…especially when kids get to help in the process. So much of childhood these days is structured. In school, we teach kids so they’ll pass a test. At home, kids sit in front of a TV or video game rather than playing outside or inventing their own games. Often times we squelch creativity, but you provide an opportunity to let kids create.

Last year, the Rapp family dressed up as the characters from the Disney TV show, Phineas and Ferb. Each boy got to think through his costume and how he wanted to make it. They even made parts of it. I loved seeing their creativity and ownership of their costumes. Continue to allow kids to be creative because of you and encourage parents to let them.

I am getting to spend you in Minneapolis, KS this year. I’m on the Kansas trail this week (Friends, Wichita State, Tabor, Kansas State and Washburn) with Joel and Callie Dolloff, and we left a day early to do you with the Dolloff’s extended family. I got to go Trick-or-Treating through downtown Minneapolis with these two angels as well as having an unbelievable home-cooked meal!

I failed to exercise my own personal creativity this year to celebrate you (I didn’t dress up) but am enjoying our celebration in Kansas. Looking forward to years of celebrating you uniquely, but also to my time in Kansas this week with the Dolloff’s and fun friends along the way.

Happy Halloween,

Encourager of creativity

One comment

  1. […] for Lindsay Just another WordPress.com site « Letter #31: Halloween-The Best of Creativity Letter #32: Tracking My Travels November 1, […]



Leave a Reply

