h1

Letter #38: Tracking My Travels

November 7, 2010

Dear personal odometer,

Ten years ago I ventured to Branson for the first time in my life. I was in the 8th grade, and my family, best friend and I went to pick my sister up from Kamp. She worked at K-2 for a summer. This was the first time I had ever even heard of Kanakuk, and I remember telling myself, “Maybe one day I’ll work here.” Five years later I interviewed and showed up at the gates of K-West. Kamp is the only reason my path ever crossed with Branson, and 10 years ago I would have laughed in someone’s face if they would have told me I’d live in Branson. Ten years later, it’s home. Today, I am more grateful than ever to call this place home, especially to have a FULL WEEK in this place!

Our mileage has increased to 5,532.3 miles with several more stops along the way. We’re at about 185 miles a day.

2.4 miles: Friends University (Wichita)-Wichita State University

56.2 miles: Wichita State-Tabor College (Hillsboro)

83.7 miles: Tabor to Kansas State (Manhattan)

56.9 miles: KState to Washburn University (Topeka)

27.5 miles: Washburn-University of Kansas (Lawrence-details coming tomorrow)

239.3 miles: KU-Branson

(the traveling crew from my week in Kansas…yes, Joel fit between TWO car seats!!)

It’s time to give you a rest from accumulating mileage at record speeds. This week, I’m filling my gas tank, washing the windshield to clear my perspective and sorting through the trash and important things I’ve accumulated along the journey. As much as I’m enjoying life on the road, you and I both need a break. Neither one of us was built to live this lifestyle constantly. However, putting you to rest for the week is going to challenge me in many ways: 1) Actually resting. 2) The direction this blog will take sans travel. 3) Finding purpose in myself and my job outside of the road.

Looking forward to the rest and the challenges,

Commender of whoever thought of ‘falling’ back…thoroughly enjoyed my extra hour!

One comment

  1. i don’t understand how the visit didnt make the blog…..



Leave a Reply

