h1

Letter #44: Secular Saturdays

November 13, 2010

Dear Saturdays,

Thank you for providing a day of rest in the midst of all the craziness of the week. I know, I know, Sunday is supposed to be the day of rest, but with all my traveling madness, you have become a needed day in my life. College football doesn’t hurt. Sunday is considered the Sabbath, so you’re going to be considered secular Saturdays!

Yes, I’m a girl. I enjoy girl things like cooking, pedicures and chick flicks, but I am a huge  college football fan too. There is something about being part of something bigger than yourself. We can become part of a team and make friends with strangers just because we’re interested in the same game. The athleticism and competition of college football are breath-taking. The lessons that can be learned from this sporting event are countless. You facilitate the  ability for these things to happen. You should be proud of yourself.

Today, I’ll be recovering from the ‘crud’ that’s been going around and preparing for another week of travel ahead while curled up on my couch watching my favorite fall past time. Hopefully, the ‘big three’ of OSU can lead my Cowboys to 9-1 over the Longhorns. November 13th, you’re airing a huge game for us. Hopefully, we’ll overcome the anomaly of the “Poke Choke.” And, let’s be honest, commercials, I’ll be switching to TBS or FX to watch some chick flick in the process!

Resting and rooting for OSU,

Real Orange Wearer

Leave a Reply

