h1

Letter #46: Great Respect for Moms

November 15, 2010

Dear pregnancy,

You scare the living daylights out of me. I weighed 10 lbs. 4 oz. when I was born, and my mom tells me she’s never been the same since. If I get married and if I have kids, I need a man that was a small baby to give me a chance!

(My baby picture…a) I was a chunk. b) Obviously ticked at something. c) What happened to me…I was cute?!)

However, the reason you’ve been on my mind lately is because the family I live with just had their 5th kid. Bennett Houston was born last night at 6:54 and weighed 8 lbs. 8 oz. and 22 inches long! She has three big sisters (Hadley, Holland, Neeley) and a big brother ready to keep their eye on her along with two of the best parents in the world. Welcome to the world Bennett!

I think I experienced this event, you, as close as possible without being a nurse/doctor or it actually being me going through it. I have learned things about you that I didn’t dream were possible. Without a doubt, I am more prepared for you than ever anticipated.

(Matt and Melissa…leaving for the hospital and baby #5!)

Melissa’s due date was the 10th, but obviously, the baby and the Lord had different plans. Clearly, babies have been on the brain and Melissa and I have been talking about you a lot lately. We’re learning so much more about the biblical analogies of end times in relation to you…maybe I should say, she is teaching me more about them.

  • Melissa had no idea when she was going to go into labor. She thought she was several times before it actually happened. Similarly, we have no idea when Jesus will return.

“Now as to the times and the epochs, brethren, you have no need of anything to be written to you. For you yourselves know full well that the day of the Lord will come just like a thief in the night.” 1 Thess. 5:1-2

The end times have been predicted time and time again, but we’re still here. Obviously, people’s predictions were wrong. Melissa couldn’t control Bennett’s arrival (ok, medically she could have, but roll with the natural angle with me). She had to wait for Bennett and the Lord’s timing, and so do we. But, one day He’s coming back…will I be ready?

  • You consist of severe pain (from what I’ve been told). Birth pangs are not pleasant…this is evident even if we’ve only seen a movie portraying a birth…those blood-curdling screams could kill someone. As the time for labor shortens, the pangs become more intense.

Matthew 24 compares the end times to birth pangs. Calamity is going to continue to get worse until Christ’s return. However, when a baby is born there is a ton of relief as far as pain (again, only what I’m told). The arrival of the child becomes the focal point of the situation, and the pain eases. When Christ gets back here, He is going to ease the pain (for believers). He will be the focal point.

(all five of the Houston crew…Hadley, Neeley, Holland, Bennett and Tred)

The knowledge gained and lessons learned walking through your process with the Houston’s have been eye-opening and interesting. I won’t ever fully understand you unless I bear a child myself, but you are quite the process. How can God not be real when we are capable of things like birth?!

Grateful for the Houston clan,

Acknowledger of an even deeper respect for mothers after this

Leave a Reply

