h1

Letter #47: New Career Path?!

November 16, 2010

Dear public speaking,

I have decided to make you my new career pursuit.

Completely kidding. I’d be flat broke, and your industry would be less prestigious by me entering it. We all know I like to talk, but doing it in front of a bunch of people is a whole different story. Besides, I’m very far from qualified to partake in you.

All that being said, Saturday, Nov. 13, 2010, I officially entered your realm. For the first time in my life, I walked into a room where I knew no one, acquainted myself with as many people as possible, then later served as the speaker of the event. I was the speaker for the College of the Ozarks Coke Classic. Four college basketball teams came to play in this tournament. These same four teams, their coaches and about 80 total people also served as my audience. (K-West staff: two guesses as to what I talked about, but you’ll only need one…keep reading, and let me know if you get it right!)

To this day, I’m not exactly sure how I was asked to do this, but I was, I did it and I really enjoyed it. Most people are terrified by you (my mother’s entire body literally turns red and she hates you…thankful that isn’t genetic!). You aren’t necessarily my favorite thing to do, but I don’t dislike you either. So, I started praying and thinking through what this would look like, and this is what I came up with: God’s faithfulness tied to our need to be faithful in the little things.

Here are a few of the main points:

  • Kevin Durant it a freakishly good basketball player.
  • He also does the little things right as he works on his game.

  • We serve a faithful God. Even when life is hard or we don’t understand, God is faithful.
  • We know this because:
  1. His Word tells us: Deut. 7:9 “He is God, the faithful God”
  2. Evidence shows us: history of Israel
  3. My life portrays it: my parents’ hearts for and commitment to the Lord
  • Must remember:
  1. Lord’s timing and ours is not the same.
  2. Satan has power in this world. (1 John 5:19)
  3. Christ making a way for us to stand in God’s presence pure and sinless shows us His faithfulness….and we know the end of the story: God wins; Satan’s defeated.
  • We are to “be imitators of God” (Eph. 5:1), therefore, we are to be faithful.
  • Luke 16:10: “He who is faithful in a very little thing is also faithful in much; and he who is unrighteous in a very little is unrighteous also in much.”
  • Good small decisions allow us to build momentum to make wise big decisions.
  • Be faithful because the Lord is faithful.

Me participating in you this weekend may have accomplished absolutely nothing. Actually not true…I was reminded of the importance for me to strive to be a woman of faithfulness and integrity. The teams definitely got some good laughs off of me (I took my dad’s advice seriously: a little humor never hurt anyone), and hopefully they took something away about the character of God and how that practically applies to our lives. Thanks for providing me with an enjoyable first (and maybe last) audience as well as allowing me to get hooked up with a C of O t-shirt and hoodie…score!

Thankful for the opportunity to teach and learn lessons from the Word and Durant,

Striver and failure in this everyday, but still a striver

One comment

  1. […] for Lindsay Just another WordPress.com site « Letter #47: New Career Path?! Letter #48: Bargain Alert November 17, 2010 Dear good […]



Leave a Reply

