h1

Letter #61: Project Runway Update

November 30, 2010

Dear Traveling Challenge,

A little less than two months ago, I came up with a crazy idea and invented you. To this day, I’m not sure where I even got the idea, but you have become a highlight in my travels. On October 5th, I released my idea (Project Runway-College Style…worth two minutes if you haven’t read it), and I never dreamed it would be as fun as it’s been. Here is my stated goal:

So, as I travel from campus to campus, I’ve set a goal. I hope to obtain a piece of paraphernalia (big word that just means shirts, shorts, sweats, etc.) from as many campuses I visit as possible without purchasing any of them. This is a lofty goal and might be a complete flop, but Lord knows I had enough OSU stuff to outfit an army when I was in college. I would have helped someone fulfill a goal like this in a heartbeat. So, I thought, why not give it a shot?!

I have been floored and humbled by the response. Friends have given me shirts from their drawers, gone to the bookstore and bought me a shirt, even contacted people they know that are still in school and people I’ve never met have shown up to give me a shirt. The stories I’ve gained because of you are hilarious and have provided lifetime memories (most of the stories are in previous posts). I have even become the laughing stock of the Director’s Building at Kanakuk because they all think I’m nuts…they secretly wish they would have thought of it!

Right before I moved to Branson, I took ALL of my Kaydee shirts to be made into a t-shirt quilt. At the age of 23, it was time to retire the sorority look. This move greatly cut into my wardrobe. However, you have given me a wardrobe again!

So today is a tribute to you and to the people who have made this possible. Here are the results:

  • Auburn University…check!
  • Samford University…check!
  • Texas A&M…check!
  • Baylor…check and check!
  • Oklahoma State University…not sure this counts because I already have stuff, but no new acquires.
  • University of Oklahoma…no gear here may have been for the best?!
  • University of Tennessee…
  • Tennessee Tech…check!
  • Carson Newman…check!
  • Lee University…
  • Covenant College…check!
  • Friends University…
  • Wichita State University…check!
  • Tabor College…
  • Kansas State University…check and check!
  • Washburn University…check!
  • College of the Ozarks…speaking engagement that ended in gear…check!
  • University of Alabama…check!
  • Valdosta State University…
  • University of Georgia…
  • Southwest Baptist University…

I have visited 20 colleges, and you have allowed me to successfully rep 12 of them (13 if you include OSU). I am floored when I see these results. Thanks for making traveling more fun. For providing great memories and laughs. For humbling me with my friends’ generosity. For increasing my wardrobe. For giving me blog material. The list could go on, but nobody wants to keep reading.

Looking forward to the rest of this week of traveling and next semester,

Project Runway-College Style’s ‘Model’

Leave a Reply

