h1

Letter #80: The Eye of the Beholder

December 19, 2010

Dear perspective,

Life is all about you. The glass can be half full or half empty. The grass can be greener on the other side, but the side stood on can be fertile as well. Dream big or dream limited. OK, I made the second two up, but it’s true. Life is all about how we look at you.

Sure, the economy is terrible right now…everybody’s always talking about it. In reality, is it that bad? The majority of the people in our country will still be getting amenities for Christmas. The commercials on TV sure don’t look like things are a struggle either. Come here, buy this, your kid has to have this. It never ends. Now, I’m not saying our economy is good by any means. I am saying that when we step back and gain some of you about the situation, we will realize we are still VERY RICH compared to most of the world.

(Nichols Hills)

Another example is that I’m from Oklahoma. In this great state, people tend to fall in love and marry at a young age. Therefore, family thinks I need to follow that pattern and asks about my relationship life and even attempts to set me up (actually, more like they talk about trying to set me up and never really put feet to it). Now, typically these conversations are hilarious, sometimes annoying, but at the end of the day, I encourage them all to take a step back, gain you, and realize I’m only 23.

(Nichols Hills)

Lastly, we freak out about a ton of things in life. She cut my hair wrong, my face is broke out, what am I going to get so and so for Christmas, what will people think, the Cowboys lost again, and so on and so forth. At the end of the day, the majority of this stuff doesn’t really matter. I love when I’m able to remove myself from the mundane ‘big deals’ of life and realize that there are only two things in life that are truly eternal: the Word of God and people’s souls. Christ is all that really matters in the scheme of life. Yes, we have a ton of things we have to take care of in the midst of life, but sometimes I have to regain you when the little things stress me out.

(Chesapeake)

When I got back to Oklahoma, my parents and I took my nephews to look at Christmas lights. First of all, if you’re in the OKC area, Chesapeake and Nichols Hills are worth your time. Secondly, Kaedyn, my nephew (5), helped me to gain a little of you. He was convinced he wanted to take pictures along the way (he took the first photos, I took the second!). I figured, why not?! They are always deletable. When I downloaded the pictures, I realized the only difference in our pictures was you. He is simple and would just point and click. Whatever was in the way was just part of the scene. I made sure to get a clear shot of each thing, zoom in and cut out the ‘crap.’ Similar to how each of us approach life. Everything is a big deal to a little kid while I avoid the ‘crap’ any chance possible.

We were able to capture the evening from both of our viewpoints, and he was entertained! As I approach the holidays and just the realities of growing up, I have to take a step back a regain you every once in a while. Thanks for reminding me of the important things in life.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder,

Perspective gainer

One comment

  1. LOVED this post. By the way, your nephew’s photo is a bit blurred adding a special affect to the shot-I like it alot!!!



Leave a Reply

