h1

Letter #82: Interaction, Boundaries, Balance

December 21, 2010

Dear working from home,

You have been a huge blessing this week, but I don’t like you too much. Kanakuk graciously allowed me to work from home for a few days so I didn’t have to drive to Oklahoma for our extended family Christmas’s, drive back to Missouri, then drive back to Oklahoma for actual Christmas. Thank the Lord! After traveling 8,000+ miles in the last three months that is the last thing I wanted to do.

So, here I am, at my parent’s house in Oklahoma, getting stuff done while also getting to be in the mix with my family. I’m thankful for you currently, but I could never do you full time. I NEED interaction with people. I miss my coworkers. I NEED boundaries in my life. I like being able to go to work, then come home to the APT and separate the two. Sure, I think about various work-related things some after coming home, but I believe there is value to removing myself from the sphere of work. I’d literally work constantly if I didn’t consciously set boundaries for myself.

Positives about you: I can work in my pajamas with hair unbrushed or workout clothes all sweaty, and nobody knows (i.e. the above picture: phone interview with unbrushed hair in my pjs!). This is probably my favorite part of you. I get to get dressed on my time. This would also probably turn me into a slob, so it’s a good thing you aren’t an actual part of my life. Another plus: Factoring in a lunch break is unnecessary. I can eat whenever and whatever I want. Currently, I’m working through Brueggen Christmas leftovers…turkey, dressing, hashbrown, fruit…all my favorite food! Not sure if these and Insanity go hand in hand!

It’s also easy to throw a load of laundry in while in the middle of a long phone call or to put the dogs out between checking emails. This all creates huge distractions in my world though. I see 12 things that need to be done around the house in the midst of the 15 things I need to be doing for work. There is no balance in my world. When I leave my APT in the morning for the office, I’m at work until that evening. Then, I can take care of home projects.

I NEED interaction, boundaries and balance, and I just don’t get it from you. I honestly don’t think I’ll be able to be your kind of girl. If I ever have kids, I might change my mind. As of now, there is no way. In the mean time, I truly am thankful for you because you’ve allowed me to maximize family time during my first legitimately grown up Christmas.

Needing an office and coworkers,

Slob of an ‘I work from home’ woman

 

Leave a Reply

