h1

Letter #91: Real Life ‘Kamp’ Friends

December 30, 2010

Dear ‘Kamp’ friends,

A couple nights ago, several of you got together for an OKC kamp reunion. Being in the presence of kamp friends is fun…we’re the same crazies in real life as we are at kamp. It’s refreshing. It just feels right. Being with you got me thinking just how unique you are. (For the record, Laynie isn’t with child, well she is in the picture, but it’s her cousin!)

You’re the best. There’s just something that makes you special. Somehow I can spend four, maybe six, weeks with you, and it’s like we’ve known each other forever. There’s a connection there that’s different than other friendships, that people who haven’t experienced kamp just don’t understand.

It’s an unexplainable difference. Maybe it’s the fact friendship is formed in a foreign setting…middle of nowhere Missouri. Maybe it’s the lack of ‘worldly’ distractions…iPhones, iPods, iWanttobeconsumedbytechnologyandnotengage. Maybe it’s the unifying cheers that are overwhelming to newbies but once you catch on you feel initiated into a fraternity. Maybe it’s because you’re isolated with no where else to go and no one else to talk to. Who knows exactly what it, the unexplainable difference, is? I’m going to go out on a limb and argue one reason is the fact friendship is unashamedly developed centered on Christ. This generally allows deep conversation to happen much more quickly than typical friendships. Lifetime friendships are developed in a matter of weeks.

I just finished my 5th summer at K-West. Five of the best, most exciting and challenging summers of my life. First two summers, I was a counselor. These are my co-counselors. To this day, I keep up with them. It’s not weekly or evenly monthly catch up, but we know what’s happening in each other’s lives. When we do chat, it’s as if we never missed a beat. Both these girls taught me more than I’ll ever realize during those four weeks of playing Mom to a cabin full of campers together. They are the epitome of you in my life.

(Co #1: Liz-I was clueless, and she literally taught me everything I know about kamp…clearly a Christmas in summer party!)

(Pool deck doesn’t look much different?!)

The neat thing is you don’s stop with just my cos. I’ve been given the privilege of having all sorts of you: kitchies, counselors, office girls, directors, small group connections, random ‘you got in trouble but it actually made us great friends,’ and the list goes on and on. I’ve even been able to see many of you through my travels this fall, but what if we got to experience you in real life on a regular basis? Dream for just a moment…back to reality.

(Co #2: Meg-same age, really good kamp friends, shocked Erin paired us together…Western Party!)

(Epic 4-square tournament in our cabin…one of my favorite kamp memories…ever.)

There are no parameters to you and for this I am grateful. You are some of the dearest people in the world to me. You have no idea how much you’ve shaped me, encouraged me and challenged me. You are selfless, funny, patient, exciting to be around, imperfect yet seeking Christ. You have probably provided one of the closest glimpses of heaven I’ll get this side of eternity.
Grateful for you,

Attempter of explaining the uniqueness of kamp friendships

One comment

  1. 1st term 2007…. so stinkin fun. best term of kamp ever?! ALL vets?! stacked to the brim? Amazing??? yeah I think so….



Leave a Reply

