h1

Letter #94: Can’t take the OK outta the girl

January 2, 2011

Dear Oklahoma,

It’s sure been a blessing to get to spend two weeks with you. I forget how fickle your weather is though. I literally was basking in 70 degree weather one day and the next it was 19 degrees or something ridiculous. I should know by now to never be surprised.

(23, 29 and 31…still getting matching gifts!!!)

I have worked a good deal from you since I’ve been here, but I’ve played a ton as well. It has been the biggest blessing getting to spend time with family and friends. I’m thankful to have a family I get along with and honestly enjoy spending time with to come ‘home’ to, and it’s been fun having the holidays bring friends from all walks of life together in ‘good ole you.’

(Reunited at last…and Cowboys win! Kayla, Bria and Jeter at our OSU watch party!)

I’m heading back to Shady B, Missouri today (that’s Branson for more recent readers), and I’m excited for what lies ahead in 2011 for me there. It’s become home in nearly every way, but you will always hold a very special place in my heart. Even when foreigners of you think we live in teepees and ride horses to school (no, we don’t do this…well, except for the 5th grade…kidding), you have been good to me. I wouldn’t be the woman I am today if I had grown up somewhere else, so thank you.

(Nephew time=tons of sword fights, Legos and Transformers!)

I literally have no idea when I’ll be back, but I will be back (Oklahomans, this means you have to visit me…the Dixie and Yakov are calling your name!). In the meantime, these are some of my favorite pictures captured that haven’t been blogged about while visiting you this holiday season.

(Christmas day at Grandma Rother’s memory care facility…priceless. And to think, I could say whatever I wanted for the first time in life without getting in trouble…they wouldn’t remember!)

(Good ole home-cooking! Christmas night steak dinner!)

(Snow tubing in Bricktown…this is what it’s supposed to look like!)

(Somehow this is how my experience was captured…fun, but LOTS of work with a kid!)

(Favorite candid Christmas shot.)

(Who knew the Classen Curve even existed? Lunch at Upper Crust-good!-with Jolie, Bria and Evan, the photographer!)

(Unexplainable in the best way!)

You can take a girl out of Oklahoma, but you can’t take the Oklahoma out of the girl,

Okie for life

Leave a Reply

