h1

Letter #96: I NEED HELP.

January 4, 2011

Dear help,

I’m independent. I don’t ask for you often. I like to know I can do things on my own. I don’t like to be a burden to others. I’m 23, single and living in a town with no immediate family. I need to be able to take care of myself.

Reading the above lines, I kind of sound like I have it all figured out. It seems as though I don’t need anyone else in this life. Reality check: this is about as far from the truth as possible. I’m prideful. Arrogant. Over-confident. Afraid of failure or rejection. These reasons are far more what keeps me from asking for you than any idea that I have my life together. I feel as though I need to carry everything I own myself, pay for anything that is remotely close to being mine, walk through problems with other people rather than ever admitting my own struggles.

The reality is we all need you sometimes. None of us have it all figured out. We’re not all capable of doing every thing that needs to be done. My weaknesses are somebody else’s strengths and vice versa. I can serve somebody one way, then they can turn around and serve someone else or me with one of their talents.

Today, I attempt to lay down a bit of my pride (I have a LONG way to go) and ask for you. Ninety-six days ago I began this blogging endeavor. I didn’t have a clue where it was going to go. I made the official decision Sept. 29th and launched ‘LettersforLindsay’ on Oct. 1. All I did was create a WordPress account, chose a template and began writing. I kept telling myself I would revamp the blog as time went on. Well, traveling took over my life, and to be completely honest, my knowledge of technological type things is very limited. Therefore, if anyone has read this thing for 96 days, they can attest that it hasn’t changed.

All that being said, I need you. There are people out there who love computers, design, creativity. There are people who can do what takes me five hours in one. Today, I ask these people for you. I need suggestions. Guidance.  A new look. People are requesting to have the ability to ‘follow the blog’ (this floors and humbles me). I need this feature added. I need to understand more about archives and appropriately creating them. I want a really sweet logo/picture. I NEED YOU.

So today, I ask for you. I can be reached through a comment, Facebook, Twitter or e-mail me at lindsay.rother@gmail.com. Yes, I am looking to improve my blog site, but more importantly, I’m hoping this enhances my character. In the Bible, the book of James says, “God opposes the proud and gives grace to the humble.” Today, I seek God’s grace, humility and refinement of my soul and character, and I start by asking for you.

I need you,

Technologically challenged

 

One comment

  1. I’m in. Just email me with a list of “must-haves” and “want-to-haves” and I’ll let you know what I can do.



Leave a Reply

