h1

Letter #101: WOOOOOOOO…….

January 9, 2011

Dear U of A,

I’ve heard about you for far too long, and yesterday I got to experience you for myself. I didn’t come for work. I didn’t have a schedule. I simply came to have fun! Through maybe a sheer miracle (I’ll spare you all the details!), four very busy individual’s schedules somehow allowed for a trek to Fayetteville.

Laine, Brooke, Caroline and I (picture order) had the opportunity to attend your opening basketball game. I love basketball, and I’m always up for an adventure. You played very well, were an exciting game and pulled out a huge win to open up your SEC season. Since you played Tennessee, I was hoping to witness a Bruce Pearl three piece suit, but due to his suspension this dream was crushed.

Besides seeing a great game, the highlight of you was definitely my first athletic experience of ‘calling the Hogs.’ Sure, my friends have called ‘em in passing, but this was like nothing I’ve ever experienced. Thousands of people knew the exact length of each ‘woo.’ Unbelievable. I never called them myself because I was simply standing in awe of it. I didn’t want to mess it up. I think I’m close to getting it down…wooooooo…excuse to return?!

You also embody great tradition. Everything just felt old and well-known. From the cheerleaders outfits to the Alma Mater, your people are classy and seem very loyal. You treated me well. Great game. Great friends. Great laughs.

Once a Razorback, always a Razorback,

Attempter of mastering ‘the call’

 

Leave a Reply

