h1

Letter #117: Walkin’ in Memphis…

January 25, 2011

Dear traveling,

Yesterday marked my last official first day of trail and you, potentially forever. Let’s rephrase: last day of trail. You will be a part of my life regardless of my occupation! Time and time again, I’ve been asked if I’m glad to be done. What I can’t figure out is why people don’t ask if I’m sad to be done? Oh wait, normal people don’t enjoy you when you happen repeatedly for 10 weeks out of basically a three month portion of the year?!

The truth of the matter is I really do love you. You will be missed, but I’m also ready to have some consistency back in my life. I’m actually excited to buy groceries and cook, to know where I will wake up each morning. I’m also going to miss the daily adventure, the opportunity to meet new people every single day and seeing new places. This transition will be a test, one of how much a really like Branson when I’m there for long periods of time without living on an island with 69 friends.

I have another crossroads I must decide on. A big portion of my blogging endeavors have been centered around you. With this aspect of life coming to a halt, I must make some big blogging decisions. What direction will I take now? I committed to blogging everyday with no deadline…will I continue blogging daily? Maybe my personal side of you will have to increase immensely so I can continue your slant on the blog…if only my budget in this area was endless?! So, not only is a big part of my job coming to an end, I’m also being forced getting to reevaluate the purpose of the last 117 days of my life.

In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy my last official week with you. I look forward to the adventures that Mississippi has to offer and the fun people who call this state home. It’s already been a great beginning to my last week of you. BBQ on Beale Street in Memphis…everything I envisioned it to be and more! The street is constantly closed. People stand outside of their restaurants beckoning you to come eat their food. Bars everywhere. Musicians posted up all over. It really was quite the experience. Thanks for kicking the week of with a bang!

Walkin’ in Memphis,

Lover of the Beale St. experience

One comment

  1. Programma Sviluppo è un Centro di Formazione Professionale nato dal mondo accademico con l’obiettivo di erogare servizi formativi di qualità per migliorare l’occupazione, favorire la crescita del capitale umano e sostenere lo sviluppo locale prevenendo e contrastando la disoccupazione.
    L’Ente si distingue in Puglia per aver conseguito nel corso dell’anno formativo 2004 la certificazione di qualità UNI EN ISO 9001:2000 per la progettazione ed erogazione di percorsi formativi. E’ presente sul territorio regionale con Centri Polifunzionali nella provincia di Bari, con sede formativa accreditata in Locorotondo, nella provincia di Taranto, con sede formativa accreditata in Taranto, nella provincia di Lecce, con sede formativa accreditata in Galatina.



Leave a Reply

