h1

Letter #121: Tracking My Travels

January 29, 2011

Dear personal odometer,

If I got frequent flyer miles for the 10 weeks I traveled this year, I’d be flying free ALL over the world. Too bad I didn’t fly to begin with nor do I get rewards for the thousands of miles I traveled.

My traveling days have ceased, meaning it’s time to put you to rest for good. First, we need to see how much damage we did this year.

The past three weeks have brought many adventures as well as 4,253.1 miles.

Unbelievable. This just in…we have officially traveled 13 states and 12,372.8 miles. This means we averaged about 250 miles a day over a 10 week period. We could essentially have made it from Branson to Jerusalem and back in the amount of miles we’ve traveled.

This blows my mind. That is SO MUCH time on the road, yet I wouldn’t have traded one mile for the hundreds of people I was able to meet, interview, challenge and encourage or the friends I was able to reunite with along the way. With stops and an average of about 65 mph, it likely took the 15 passenger two hours to travel 100 miles. Thankfully, with the inventions of cell phones, 3G and old fashioned pen and paper, I was able to be fairly productive while spending 248ish hours in the van.

676.8 miles: Branson-Fayetteville-Edmond-Lubbock

146.5 miles: Lubbock-Odessa

62.9 miles: Odessa-Seminole

443.5 miles: Seminole-Edmond

325.9 miles: Edmond-Branson

411.9 miles: Branson-University of Nebraska (Lincoln)

323.9 miles: Nebraska-Mt. Vernon, IA

136.3 miles: Mt. Vernon-Des Moines

208.7 miles: Des Moines-Quincy, IL

391.5 miles: Quincy-Branson

356.5 miles: Branson-Oxford (family show)

97.5 miles: Oxford-Mississippi State (Starkville)

137.4 miles: State-Mississippi College (Clinton)

177.3 miles: MC-Ole Miss (Oxford)

356.5 miles: Ole Miss-Branson

I never dreamed I’d ever travel like this for my job. I often compared our travels with truck drivers. I was on the road about as much. There’s one huge difference though. I have something exciting to look forward to at each stop. I was going to get to spend time with people and see old friends. Truck drivers simply drop off and pick up new material to be transported. This is such a great testament of the importance of having purpose behind what we do. These 10 weeks of travel have been unexplainably wonderful. However, my stomach is excited to have groceries and my sleeping schedule is looking forward to consistency.

What will I do with my next 248 hours?!

Nation traveler

 

Leave a Reply

