h1

Letter #129: Super Bowl Serious

February 6, 2011

Dear Super Bowl,

You have a long history of being an exciting day for Americans. Parties are hosted in your honor, viewers anticipate your commercials and when it’s all said and done we enjoy the game but in the end can’t remember who won after a few years.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m just as excited as the next person about you today. This is the one time I watch TV and don’t channel surf during commercials. We can only hope 2011 brings some great laughs and classics to the commercial legacy you have left (play some of my favs below!). They better…the going rate for 30 seconds of air time this year is 2.7 million dollars.

I also look forward to your halftime show. You never know what you’re going to get during it…Who can ever forget the wardrobe malfunction?! I just like actually seeing what’s happening at halftime. Black Eyed Peas…don’t disappoint us!

And the food…we can’t proceed without talking about the food. You lead people to bring out all the stops. You involve the best of the best tailgating food. Man, I’m already getting excited to eat this goodness with some fun people (not this, but I liked the pic!)!

While you bring all sorts of laughter, treats, fellowship and the last football game for months, my eyes have recently been opened to a whole new element surrounding you. Matt Chandler, a very trendy, truth-speaking, prominent pastor in Dallas, tweeted about this one day, and I was immediately intrigued.

Sex trafficking. I heard the founder of this organization speak on this topic a year ago and have been burdened ever since. Approximately 27 million people are in modern day slavery as we speak. Many of those as sex slaves. At least 1 million of these are sex trafficked children. 27 million. I want to throw up I’m so disgusted. What’s equally daunting is that it revenues somewhere between 12 and 32 billion dollars a year.

The majority of this is happening overseas, particularly in Europe, but it’s happening in our borders as well. Nearly 20,000 foreigners will be trafficked into the U.S. a year as well as close to 300,000 of our own young girls. My mind is seriously baffled right now.

So what does sex trafficking have to do with you? Well, believe it or not, trafficking increases during you. There’s more money, more opportunity and more people in one place, and you have become a prime opportunity for it to happen. Not to mention, 25% of U.S. victims already reside in Texas.

Thankfully, Texas and Dallas specifically are being proactive in this fight. They have increased these divisions of their police units, the attorney general is on board to fight and superstars are taking a stand…I love this video.

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/18445593″>Traffick 911 PSA 10</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/natebernard”>Nate Bernard</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

I’m excited about you today just as always. My heart is also burdened for 27 million people in our world who feel as if they have no hope. As we cheer on the Pack or the Steelers (I’ve decided I’m rooting for the Pack) and laughing at 2.7 million dollar ads, let’s not forget what real life looks like for some of our kind.

Go Pack and Jay Ratliff,

Enjoyer of your snacks

***Most of my resources are linked above. The A21 campaign and Not for Sale are two of tons of ways to get involved in this catastrophe happening under our watch.

Leave a Reply

