h1

Letter #141: The Best, Hands Down

February 18, 2011

Dear best,

Everybody is waiting for the final of ‘The Three B’s,’ and unfortunately you’re not it. I’ve postponed the regularly scheduled ‘direction’ I attempted to gain for a very important event. The third ‘B’ will be revealed tomorrow.

In the meantime, you need to be addressed. There are many things in life that claim to be you. Every car brand has a commercial claiming you…or at least Eminem claiming you for them! We’re always looking for you when it comes to bargains…where can we find the cheapest groceries, dinner or vacation?! Every sorority/fraternity claims you throughout the year through ‘Recruitment,’ competitions and party statuses. Everywhere we look, you are being claimed.

Forget all these things because today I’m claiming you. Personally, I don’t really care what you are in life, but rather I concern myself more with giving all I have to achieve you in life.

However, today, you are at the forefront of my mind. Today is an important day at Casa de la Roth. Today, we celebrate you because it’s Papa Roth’s 61st birthday, and he is hands down you when it comes to being a Dad. Papa Roth, the best Dad in the world, is the man in life I admire most and has taught me more than he’ll ever know. Today, we celebrate you.

Papa Roth’s instilled a work ethic in me I’m grateful to have. I wasn’t born in the early years, but he essentially built his business from scratch in his younger years to what it is today. He never let our house go unkept and laziness was not an option when we were kids. Heck, he even provided the gas for me to start my own lawn mowing business! I may have hated it in the moment, but today, I’m thankful.

Papa Roth’s been supportive in every way during my 23 years. There’s not a thing I can think of I wanted to pursue he didn’t agree to…well, at least on his outward appearance! Honestly, he probably wasn’t thrilled about Beanie Babies! He was the Dad that rearranged his work schedule to make every possible game I played in and, most of the time, found the balance of encouraging my efforts while still giving me tips to improve. Even when he didn’t understand, he’s the first person to put his stamp of approval on me attending the Kanakuk Institute because he knew it’s what I truly wanted to do. He’s supportive beyond belief, and I couldn’t be more thankful.

(Hahaha, a gag gift Dad got for Christmas a few years ago!)

Papa Roth has a thousand qualities to highlight, but my current favorite is his desire to learn, grow and change rather than be set in his ways. The man even got an iPad for Christmas and learned to use it!! In all reality, he’s more giving, more loving, more affirming, more sensitive because he’s walking more with the Lord at 61 than ever before. I’m challenged by his willingness to become more like Christ.

Hands down, Papa Roth is you. He is a better Dad than my sisters and I deserve, but we sure are grateful. He has set the bar high for whatever schmuck comes along in my life! Today, I wish I could celebrate at Casa de la Roth with the family, but from afar, I celebrate you: The Best Dad in the World!

Birthday does not equal the third ‘B,’ but it’s coming tomorrow,

Grateful daughter

Leave a Reply

