h1

Letter #144: ‘Insane’ Completion

February 21, 2011

Dear Insanity,

I wash my hands of you. After 9 weeks, 61 days and way too many minutes of pure hell, I have completed you! Now, I must make a few disclaimers with my word completed. Actually, I have some beef with you in general…it all correlates.

Week 1: legitimately, the most difficult thing I’ve ever done. I didn’t think there was anyway I could finish you with how horrible I felt. I could barely sit, walking was a challenge and peeing…well, you do the math. Somehow, I survived.

Weeks 2-5: my favorite. Forty minute workouts, tops. Still hard, but making it through the first week is key. These weeks were “easy” for me. I use easy very lightly. I was motivated. This time length was ideal for me. These were the golden weeks…especially recovery week!!

Weeks 6-9: AWFUL. This is my issue with you. You suckered me in, then you throw this Max training business in. I was conditioned mentally for 40 minute workouts. You come around and are an hour if not more. In the scheme of life, 20 minutes isn’t that big of deal. In the scheme of you, huge deal. At this point, I was committed so I couldn’t bail.

Here’s where my confessions and disclaimers come in. While I completed all 60 days of your program, I did not complete all ‘x’ number of minutes. Sometimes I just didn’t have an hour plus to give, so I’d cut the video a little short. Did I cut corners? Yes, but I stand here openly admitting it. If you would’ve remained 40ish minutes, I would’ve fully completed you, but I failed. I also got sick in the middle of you and postponed everything a week, didn’t skip a week just pushed it back. Disclaimers complete.

Now, I know every person reading this is skimming simply looking for my results. As promised, no awkward before and after pictures for everyone’s sake! Nevertheless, here are my results. You begin with a fit test on day one and end with the same test on the last day. My numbers increased significantly. I won’t bore you with specifics, but these are my improvements from each exercise. 74/99, 32/36, 70/95, 30/34, 7/10, 6/10, 8/15, 20/44. Basically, my endurance increased in every area, some significantly.

Endurance wasn’t my only result. My body’s firmed up as well. I’m more solid. I can feel it in my arms, thighs and mainly my stomach. Trust me, this doesn’t mean I’m ripped or super toned. I simply can tell a difference in firmness, and I’ll take being more firm any day.

Lastly, weight loss. This is what people really want to know. I guess I have one more disclaimer. I’ve eaten horribly through you. The holidays, trail: where there’s no say of what you eat, then the ‘draft:’ where somehow there was always food around. So, take that into high consideration when looking at these results…I lost 1-2 pounds, but remember, muscle weighs more than fat, and I’ve gotten ‘You look skinnier comments.’ I feel better and that’s all that matters!

All this being said, I’m going to miss my boyfriend, Shaun T. Kidding, but he became the male I spent the most consistent time with and this became the ongoing joke. I loved the consistency I had with you. You burdened me, and the result was working out regularly. However, you’re the hardest thing I’ve ever done physically, and I’m thankful you’re over. For nine or 10 weeks you’ve been hanging over my head. Today, nothing is hanging!

I’m glad I tried you. I think you do good things. However, I don’t think I’ll ever do your consecutive 60 days again. I don’t know, I might, but not anytime soon. I got bored doing the same thing over and over. I now understand why you’re called what you are. Einstein’s quote makes more sense than ever: “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.” Sure, I had some results, but I need a bit more adventure in my life. I’ll consider incorporating you into my workouts weekly. If nothing else, it’s fun to know I finished (basically!), and if I can do this I can anything!

Looking forward to a break…actually, I’m 95% sure I’m starting half marathon training,

Finisher of you and super excited

Past Insanity blogs:

December 13th…’Insane’ Consistency

January 3rd…’Insane’ Update

One comment

  1. I laughed out loud at the phrase, ‘In the scheme of you…’ So proud of you for sticking with it! All I know is that my P90x was more like a P14 with no x. I can’t commit. Love you!



Leave a Reply

