h1

Letter #150: Oscar Legos

February 27, 2011

Dear Oscars,

Today is your day. The day the best movie of the year is selected and people care more about who’s walking the red carpet with whom and what great and terrible fashion statements celebrities are making. Now that I’m on my own budget, Redbox is about the only movie viewing I can afford. Therefore, I haven’t seen many of this year’s nominees. Nevertheless, I’ll likely tune in to at least a bit of you and eventually see the highly acclaimed and my guess to win, ‘The King’s Speech.’

Sure, you’re a huge production who’s main purpose is to glorify the acting industry, but let’s shift gears for a moment. When I was a kid, I built Legos like it was my job. Growing up my “Santa” Christmas gift, this meant my big gift of the year, was often Legos. Two of my favorite were the nearly 2,000 piece semi set and the motorized train. My love for building led me to legitimately consider construction management as my major…thankfully in the end I chose public relations.

So how do you and my love for Legos coincide?! Every year there’s a different way in which your nominees are portrayed. Video clips are the most common, but I came across a neat and unique way to view you this year. Every nominated movie is represented by Legos in this clip I found on cnn.com. It’s pretty creative and worth a couple minutes of time in my opinion. Plus, it’s a new way to get the public hyped for you tonight!

(Click this picture for the video…you’ll have to watch a brief commerical, but it’s worth it.)

I always love when people combine childhood with modern day, and my child self definitely didn’t care about you but now I do. I’m also thankful I grew out that bowl cut!

May you be enjoyable, funny with new hosts and inspire us all with the fashion, or lack of, witnessed tonight,

Lego connoisseur for life

Leave a Reply

