h1

Letter #154: A Lost Art

March 3, 2011

Dear writing,

I remember sitting in 3rd grade being more excited than words can express to learn cursive. You were an adventure in my world, one I was determined to conquer. Now, at 23, the only time I use cursive is when signing my name. Sad, I know. I’ve lost an art. I can’t even remember how to make most of the letters not in my name.

Then, I grew quickly and was the lankiest kid imaginable in high school. Somehow I managed to be in AP English classes and did a ton of you. Hated it at the time or at least told myself I did. In all reality, I don’t think I hated you, but I was 17, an athlete and a high school student. I was supposed to hate you, so I did.

Once I finalized my major in college (this took a while!), I did quite a bit of you. I had to take all sorts of reporting type classes which meant I acted as a newspaper writer. Hated the details, citing and quoting that went along with this, but I started enjoying you a bit more as time went on.

It wasn’t until my school days were over when I truly found an affinity for you. You became fun when I wasn’t told I had to and was able to choose when I wanted to partake in you. The style I choose to use is LMR (Lindsay Michelle Rother) rather than APA or MLA, and I get to choose my topics which typically include a form of letter to either a person or inanimate object rather than being told I have to create a piece capturing the purpose of ‘The Scarlet Letter’…She’s a harlot and deserves forgiveness just like the rest of us.

I’ve done more of you in the past six months than probably my entire life combined…even when I was required. I’ve written every 2010 K-West camper. I’ve written every girl who worked at K-West last summer, and I have now written every 2011 staff girl. While these have been daunting tasks, I’ve come to value the power of the written word and the commitment it takes to actually sit down and participate in you rather than shoot an e-mail or text.

Also, here I am, day 154 of this blogging journey. When I began, I had no idea where this endeavor would take me. I had no end in sight, but I never dreamed I’d make it this long. This daily letter adventure has increased the amount of you in my life immensely. It’s also allowed me to reflect, appreciate, process and value my daily life more than ever. Selfishly, this blog has enhanced my personal growth, and I’m thankful for those who have chosen to come on this journey with me.

I’ve developed a great love for you recently. I wonder what else I disliked growing up, because I was supposed to, could become a new found love?!

Embrace the art of you today and hand-write someone a letter,

Advocate of the written word to process and edify

 

Leave a Reply

