h1

Letter #161: Do What I Hate to Do What I Love

March 10, 2011

Dear packing,

You stress me out. OK, stress might be a bit of an overstatement, but I can think of 9,000 things I’d rather do than you. Cleaning, organizing and procrastinating are all on that list, three things I don’t love, so obviously I’m not a huge fan of you. I drive to Tulsa tonight to fly to San Diego in the morning for family vacation, so you consumed last night. I couldn’t be more excited especially since San Diego is in my top five American cities to visit. The others, in case you’re wondering, are Chicago, DC, Seattle and the 5th is always kept open in case there’s a last minute place of interest! Soon, San Diego will have to be replaced! I digress.

You’re required in order for me to do one of the things in life I love most, traveling, so I’m not going to complain too much. However, let me explain a few of my qualms with you.

  • Laundry completed to have all options available.
  • Unpredictable weather causing the need for more outfits to accommodate anything.
  • Pictures lasting a lifetime, so taking outfits you want pictures in is key.
  • The what ifs: What if we go somewhere really nice? What if it gets hotter or colder than expected? I think through any situation and try to get items in for each.

Then, at the end of the process, it’s almost inevitable that I do too much of you and still forget something. You are a vicious cycle. A cycle I honestly loathe. After 10 weeks of trail for work, I should have this down. Vacation and work are two VERY different versions of you.

The truth of the matter is I may hate you, but I LOVE traveling. I’ll take the tradeoff. So last night, I had put you off long enough and took you by storm. For about 30 minutes, my bed was unidentifiable. Sorting, folding, pairing outfits. Deciding what was comfortable yet Cali…let’s be honest, I probably succeeded at comfort and failed miserably in trendy Cali.

All that being said, one more day of work and vacation is calling my name! When I forget the outfit selections for a minute, I get excited to spend quality time with my family and relax in Cali…plus, this is exciting…my first ever vacation from work and real world…these might even be better than being in school!

Doing what I hate to do what I love,

Terrible packer

Leave a Reply

