h1

Letter #171: Guest Blog-Lindsay’s Birthday

March 20, 2011
My first ever guest blogger, Dana Rother Haynie! Might I add she did a great job (maybe I can con her into a few other insightful posts!), but probably told a few too many lies about me! 🙂

***Disclaimer from Dana Haynie (guest blogger):  This is the first blog I have ever written, and Lindsay is a difficult topic!***

Dear March 20th,

You are the day one of my favorite people was born….my “little” sister Lindsay (affectionately known as Lindzer in my books).  She definitely wasn’t little when she was born, weighing in well over ten pounds (poor Mom)!

The official start of Lindsay’s life

Lindsay's baby picture

She was one happy baby...probably because she had such awesome older sisters 🙂

Jamie and I quickly took Lindsay on as our own real-life doll, and we drug her around everywhere.  Looking back, I am surprised she made it out of those first few years alive.  We dressed her up, pushed her around and tried to teach her everything we thought we knew.

Dad and his girls

What were you thinking Mom?!?!

One of our many dress-up sessions

I still dress her up in my clothes and make-up...

Lindsay was a tomboy, which is an understatement.  I decided to leave out some of the more incriminating pictures (ie: no shirt for the first 7 years of life), but she loved to get dirty and play outside.  She was also very naturally talented and athletic, playing basically every sport offered during her childhood years.

Just the beginning....

Fun times at a Dallas Mavericks game

Jamie is eight years older than Lindsay, and I am five…so she was basically an only child for her last few years at home.  We gave her a hard time for being the spoiled baby, but she has grown into an amazing woman that we are both proud to call our sister.

So proud at bid day when she also became my Kappa Delta sister...

Proud sister's at her OSU graduation

Honored to call her my Maid of Honor

Although she is the youngest of the “Rother girls,” she somehow is often the wisest.  I have come to look up to her in many situations, and feel truly blessed to call her my sister.  She pushes us all to be better people, and to seek God daily through her example.

Our family

She is an eternal optimist with unwavering faith.  I am currently reading a book on President Reagan’s life, and the excerpt below from one of his favorite stories sums up my sister:

“…Next the psychiatrist treated the optimist. Trying to dampen his outlook, the psychiatrist took him to a room piled to the ceiling with horse manure. But instead of wrinkling his nose in disgust, the optimist emitted a yelp of delight…. Then he clambered to the top of the pile, dropped to his knees, and began gleefully digging out scoop after scoop with his bare hands. “What do you think you’re doing?” the psychiatrist asked, just as baffled by the optimist as he had been by the pessimist. “With all this manure,” the little boy replied, beaming, “there must be a pony in here somewhere!” How Ronald Reagan Changed My Life by Peter Robinson

Great aunt and sister

I decided to throw it back to grade school and describe Lindsay with the letters in her name….

L = Loyal, always there for everyone

I = Integrity, lives her life by God’s truth

N = Never too serious, great a sense of humor

D = Dedicated, hardworking and dependable in all things

S = Smart, has a good head on her shoulders

A = Athletic, enough said

Y = Young, the baby of the family

Sisters and Friends!

Lindsay, we all love you!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Sisters in Cali

“I thank my God every time I remember you.”  -Phil 1:3

Your sister who is not a good blogger but loves you so much that she did this,

Dana 🙂

Leave a Reply

