h1

Letter #183: Six Months

April 1, 2011

Dear April 1st,

Today, you mark a big day in my world. Today, I write letter #183. 183 + 183 = 366. Unfortunately, our next leap year isn’t until next year, so my equation doesn’t work out perfectly, but I’m as close to six months into this blogging deal as I’ll ever be…Booyah!

I began Letters for Lindsay on October 1st, six months ago, blind. I had no idea what I was doing, and honestly still don’t. It was as if I was walking through a dark hallway, no idea what’s in front of me and have been feeling my way through it. We’ve all done the walk where we take really small steps bracing ourselves between the two walls anticipating the moment we finally reach the light switch. Only, my blogging hallway didn’t have a switch. It remained dark, and I had to stumble my way through as my eyes tried to readjust.

I wrote. I wrote more. And then, I wrote even more. I found a way to write on trail, vacation and under the weather, and every day I wrote, it seemed my eyes adjusted a little more. Before long, I was starting to see signs of light ahead. Today, I still haven’t found the light at the end of the tunnel (in this case, my hallway), but I’ve learned a ton on this journey.

So you have brought me to a crossroads. From the beginning I’ve made it clear I don’t know how long this quest will last. I’ve been pondering this for awhile, and I’ve decided six consecutive months of blogging is enough for me. I don’t think I’ve ever done anything everyday for three months straight, let alone six. I’m sick of the daily burden. Today, I call it quits.

I would like to personally apologize to my ‘enormous’ following. I know an important piece of your day will be missing when you aren’t able to read my take on life daily.

Not only are you the end of my blogging adventure, my six month blogging anniversary and TGIF, but you are also April Fool’s Day. Ladies and gentleman, this is my six month anniversary, but I have good news. I’m not done blogging yet…April Fool’s!!!!!!!!

Here’s to anniversaries, more blogging and lots of pranks today,

Seeker of more light

{photo attribution}

Leave a Reply

