h1

Letter #185: Spring Finally Sprung

April 3, 2011

Dear Spring,

Well, you were supposed to show up two weeks ago on my birthday, but I think you missed the memo of being my gift. Winter decided to hang out for a bit longer, but thankfully you finally decided to show up and stick around! Thank you…we’ve been waiting! Ladies and gentlemen: Spring has finally sprung!

Baseball season has begun. It’s now socially acceptable to wear flip flops, shorts and dresses. The weather is causing sin for those not enjoying it. There are a ton of time frames that could be considered the ‘most wonderful time of the year,’ but I think if I had to debate this topic I’d be on your side. Sunny and 75…I just don’t know if life gets much better.

With you showing up, it also means grilling season has arrived. Now, I say this very lightly because I’m as amateur as amateur could be when it comes to grilling. Clueless to be honest. Yesterday, in honor of you, I grilled. I had my own personal opening day. I’ve never grilled in my life…eh, I take that back, I’ve flipped the meat for my parents before. Let me rephrase, I’ve never seasoned before, and boy, do I have tons to learn.

Adventure one, and I already have so many questions. How do I keep the meat juicy and moist? How do I make sure the chicken’s cooked through without mutilating it? What sweet combinations would make for some good marinade? How tall should the flames be? I’m sure these are elementary questions, but remember, I’m an amateur.

The good news is I’ve found a new toy to play with in my cooking endeavors. The bad news is I don’t know how to use half the toys I already have. Regardless, I’m excited for a new challenge and maybe even a new hobby. Every woman has a specialty dish. Most are desserts or some really awesome entree. Maybe mine will be meat 🙂 Doubtful, but I’ll have fun in the process. Plus, I get to enjoy you in the midst of it. Sounds like a fair tradeoff to me!

Get outside and enjoy this weather,

Excited Springer

 

Any recommendations or tips on my grilling adventure are welcome!!!

 

Leave a Reply

