h1

Letter #189: Bush to Branson

April 7, 2011

Dear government,

I don’t really understand you very well at all. Everything I learned in elementary and junior high painted you out to be the best thing since ice cream shops where you get to pick ice cream flavors and all the toppings you could ever want (sliced bread doesn’t cut it for me anymore!). We read about the unbelievable stories of George Washington, our freedom as a nation and the writing of the greatest worldly document, the Constitution. I couldn’t get enough of the Civil War, Abraham Lincoln and how dignity was given to an entire people group. I would’ve never admitted back in the day, but I always loved history class as a kid. It was like reading about superheroes and imagining a sweet action film.

Boy, did I have the blinders on as a child. You aren’t what I thought you were. Sure, you still have some great heroes and principles, but now that I’m old enough to understand the scope of the world you are dirty. I’m sure you’ve always been dirty to some degree, but today I feel like the news is constantly highlighting corruption within your system. Nearly every conversation I’ve had concerning you lately, negative comments instantly fly. Let’s be honest, you’re doing some dumb stuff. To be fair, I think you could announce that April 7th would be a new national holiday, and people would find 9,000 different reasons to complain about it.

Bottom line, I don’t really understand you. I don’t get how bills, laws, budgets, etc. take years to debate and sometimes result in nothing being accomplished. I’ll never be one to be super into politics. Sure, I’ll vote. I’ll be an informed citizen, but don’t count on me running for office in the future. I’m not completely knocking you, but we’ve got some work to do my friend.

So, why the heck am I talking about you?! I’m asking myself the same question. I’ve been reading George W. Bush’s book, Decision Points, and I’m intrigued. I’ve been blown away with all that lands on the plate of the president. How is one guy responsible for SO MANY decisions? Sure, he’s surrounded by brilliant people, but that just means he’s given all his decision-making information second, third, maybe even ninth hand.

I’m in the middle of his thoughts on Iraq, so I haven’t even made it through his first term yet. Nevertheless, I already understand why presidents age the way they do while in office. Good night, why would anyone ever want that job?

Well, George and I are becoming good friends these days. I spend quite a bit of time with him. My eyes are being opened to completely new sides of you. Even more than his presidency, I’m drawn to his character. He seems like a solid, principled man of integrity. He seems sound in his faith. Tonight, Branson, good ‘ole Shady B, is in for a treat. My newest fascinating figure is speaking at the College of the Ozarks…I knew I saw a bunch of guys dressed in black canvasing town this week 🙂 I wish I could say his book was coming to life tonight, but tickets sold out in less than 10 minutes. Needless to say, I’m not high enough on the Branson social ladder to land tickets…yet!

May his integrity be as true as it seems,

Bigger Bush fan than ever before

{photo attribution}

Leave a Reply

