h1

Letter# 213: Surprises!

May 1, 2011

Dear Engagement, Weddings and Marriage,

It’s that time of year again! You seem to be on the brain lately. Considering I’m nowhere close to any of you, not so much my brain, but it’s spring and you’re taking over. Between the Royal Wedding, receiving wedding invitations and making plans to attend various weddings over the summer, it seems like you’ve exponentially grown as being part of our lives.

However, I’m completely alright with this. I love weddings, especially ones filled with really fun people at the reception! So, Friday night was fun for me, just a preview of how fun receptions can be. My friends, Kara and Allen, took the plunge of engagement Friday night, and an engagement party ensued. These are my traveling buddies from this year. You could almost say I lived in a 15 passenger van with these two for part of the winter. I get the privilege of sharing an office with Kara. All this being said, I’ve become the third wheel to some degree in their relationship this year and in the process we’ve become good friends.

The happy couple!

So, as I was thinking about Friday night for these two, it hit me like a ton of bricks. In a perfect situation, the girl is clueless pre-engagement. The boy has had time to process, prepare himself, gain composure, settle nerves to some degree. He’s in control. The girl just thinks she’s going to hang out with her man. Little does she know, her life is going to change forever on that day. She has no preparation, no time to process and is thrown into a whirlwind of emotions. Then, she’s either calling nine million people to share the news, or he’s set up a really fun engagement party. Again, thrown into chaos.

Girls swarming in excitement to hear the story, see the ring and congratulate...guys eating and being calm. Typical!

Now, I’m not saying I don’t want to be completely clueless, or that I don’t want an engagement party. Really, I’m not making any conclusions for my own future. However, I am saying girls are typically processors, and there’s no time to process in these moments. Just a little crazy for me to think about. I guess the flip side is pregnancy…the girl knows, and the boy is clueless. People, we better get used to surprises!

Congratulations friend!!

Allen completely shocked a clueless Kara by proposing at K-Kountry, the camp they work at and where they met, Friday night. He pulled out another surprise with the engagement party that followed! Super fun night to get to celebrate friends and love. I’m super excited for all my friends stepping into these aspects of you in this season of life.

Here’s to love,

Lover of surprises

Leave a Reply

