h1

Letter #215: Lemon Bananas

May 3, 2011

Dear bananas,

What do I do when you begin to rot before I eat you?? When my hard earned money is spent on what I hope to be part of my breakfast, then you turn to mush and you’re worthless? Do I throw you away and waste two dollars? HECK NO!

If you haven’t learned by now, I’ll do nearly anything to save a dollar and wasting food is not an option. I mean yesterday for lunch, I had nearly spoiled shredded cheese melted on tortillas, my last yogurt and leftover Easter potato salad. I didn’t want to waste, and I hadn’t made it to the store yet. I know, I know, I’m weird. The good news is, I went to the store last night!

So, three of you rotting on my counter could end up in the trash can. In my world, you end up traveling with me to Oklahoma for Easter where I create a masterpiece out of you. Today, you’re lucky enough to get a glimpse into the Rother’s recipe!

Start with these ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 mashed bananas
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup finely chopped nuts

Lightly melt butter in the microwave and mix sugar in. Stir. Add eggs. Stir. Add mashed bananas. Stir. Add soda and flour. Stir. Add nuts. Now use a mixer until all is beat into a cake batter consistency. Side note: the batter is unbelievable uncooked!

Pour into a well greased loaf pan and bake in the oven at 350 degrees. The recipe says to bake an hour. I’d recommend checking it at 45 minutes and pull it out when it’s brown with no batter on a knife when placing it in the middle.

Voila!!!! Warm banana nut bread! Like turning lemons into lemonade, we turned rotten ones of you into banana nut bread. Booyah!! I saved two dollars and got to treat my family and friends to deliciousness!

The most interesting part of this whole deal is the ripe, firm and yellow goodness a normal one of you brings wouldn’t be good in my concoction. You need to be mushy, black and old to make the perfect consistency. Hmmm, maybe things we tend to discard in life have more of a purpose than we give them credit.

Today’s food for thought…literally and figuratively,

Can’t get Gwen Stefani’s ‘Hollaback’ out of my head…B.A.N.A.N.A.S!

One comment

  1. Oh hey Pioneer Woman… quite the official recipe blog with step by step pictures and all. impressive.



Leave a Reply

