h1

Letter #220: Mamma Mia

May 8, 2011

Dear Mamma Mia,

No, not the Broadway play. Well, sort of the Broadway play. Ever since I saw you when I call Mama Roth, your theme song is what comes to mind. My mom has had to suffer through me belting out your chorus far too many times! Today, I celebrate Mother’s Day and Mama Roth by rewriting the words to you highlighting the best mom in the world. Listen to the original track here (open a second window or tab) while reading for a much better experience!

I was birthed by you 

And I think you know when.

So you made up your mind, babies must come to an end

At 10 plus pounds, who could ever blame you?

I don’t know how but I’m suddenly 24

Now time with you I wish I had more 

Just one look and people see you in me

One more look and they can’t believe what they see 

Mama Roth and I at Dana's wedding!

Mamma Mia, here you go again

My my, how do you do it all?

Mamma Mia, will you ever know

My my, just how much I love you?

Yes, it’s hard to believe I’m grown

5 hours apart, thankful for phones

Why, why did I ever question you?

Mamma Mia, now I really know

My my, I should have thanked you way more

Mama Roth and her girls at this year's Thanksgiving!

I was annoying and rude for many of my junior high years

Funny I work with them now and am getting paid back in my career

Stellar 'MeMe' too!

Look at me now

Will I ever learn

I don’t know how

But I can only hope one day

I’ll be half as great as you.

Just one look and people see you in me

One more look and they can’t believe what they see

Three generations...boom!

Mamma Mia, here you go again

My my, how do you do it all?

Mamma Mia, will you ever know

My my, just how much I love you?

Yes, it’s hard to believe I’m grown

5 hours apart, thankful for phones

Why, why did I ever question you?

Mamma Mia, now I really know

My my, I should have thanked you way more

Happy Mother’s Day to the best ‘Mamma Mia’ in the world. I apologize this song is a bit cheesy, but it’s the effort that counts right?! I couldn’t be more thankful that people see you in me. Thanks for being a mom, mentor, teacher, coach, doctor, cleaning lady, accountant, cook and best friend. I don’t know if I’ll ever understand how you fill all these roles simultaneously. You’re the best!

Happy Mother’s Day,

ABBA song changer and grateful daughter

{photo attribution}

One comment

  1. Good job Lindsay! I know your Mom not only loves you but is proud of you. After all, she was and is great at her “job” of mothering. The evidence is found in you! Love ya gal,
    martha



Leave a Reply

