h1

Letter #225: Honest Blogging

May 13, 2011

Dear honesty,

Today I’m going to bring in a bit more of you than normal. Eh, if we’re really talking about you today, I’m probably too transparent at times. However, at times this whole blog endeavor sucks. There are days when all I want to do is come home from work, cook dinner, put my feet up and catch something halfway entertaining on TV. I want to remain as far away from a computer as possible because I sat at one all day at work.

Somedays between email replies and mass staff emails, I crafted so many different ‘letters’ at work that the last thing I want to do is write another one after I rack my brain for a worthy subject (and only sometimes do I come up with one!). 225 days. I’ve made it 225 days in this blog endeavor. I’ve astounded myself. I don’t know that I’ve done anything for 225 days straight except be alive.

It’d be easy to lie and say all 225 days have been exciting, fun and enjoyable. The truth is there have been days I’ve dreaded my commitment to do this. Days when I want to quit. Days I want to skip because I have zero topics. These are the days I must choose to type. Choose to continue. Choose to come up with something. The crazy thing is, sometimes these days end up being mine or readers’ favorite posts.

I think sometimes blogs glamorize bloggers. Everything always seems to be pretty great in people’s lives. I mean, it makes sense. Who wants to publicize all their junk?? Regardless, I think it’s important to present things in a light of you.

So world, know that my life isn’t perfect and not just concerning the blog. This blogging endeavor isn’t always all it’s cracked up to be. And even on days when I have no motivation to write a post, I’m always glad I did. I’m in the process of enlarging the pictures from all my posts as I transition to my new blog. I’ve made it from post 225 all the way to post 20. Last night as I edited each post, I was able to reflect on the last seven months of my life. Memory after memory and laugh after laugh came up post after post. The beginnings of my t-shirt challenge. Breaking into football stadiums. Visiting friends all over the country. Family Christmas. My processing, lessons learned and struggles gone through.

It’s worth it. Posting is always worth it. Today, I have to remind myself of this because last night was a come home, dinner, feet up, TV kind of night.

Posting for 225 days means posting under all emotions,

Attempter of honesty, maybe to a fault

{photo attribution}

One comment

  1. thats huge!! way to be consistent! i enjoy reading what you have to post:)



Leave a Reply

