h1

Letter #233: End of the World??

May 21, 2011

Dear end of the world,

According to Harold Camping, an Oakland minister, you are supposed to begin today. Just in case you did, I turned my alarm off three times before actually getting up…might as well get a few extra minutes of sleep! Apparently this is it. An earthquake will hit the entire world today and land in San Francisco at 6 pm. Good riddance!

Well, I woke up today and things look just like they did yesterday. Then again, I’m in the middle of the woods in Missouri at camp…how much have things really changed in 50 years let alone one day?! Here’s the deal. Biblically, I don’t think you’re going to happen today. People have been predicting you for, well ever, and have been wrong. When you actually come, I don’t believe anyone will truly know. First Thessalonians 5 talks a ton about end times. It states that ‘the day of the Lord will come just like a thief in the night.’ Matthew 24 talks about ‘be[ing] on the alert, for you do not know which day your Lord is coming.’

I’m not going to get super deep or theological, but according to Scripture you’re probably not happening today. We won’t know the day or the hour when Jesus is coming back. Heck, even Jesus didn’t know. The truth of the matter…one day you will happen. One day, Christ is going to come for a second time. The first time He came to save the world. The second, He will judge it. Believers will be spared. Christ died so we could be spared. God is holy, righteous and perfect. We are sinful, wretched and failures. I mess everything up. I’m selfish, prideful, deceiving and so much more, but Christ died and His blood covers all that up…if I believe in Him and give Him my life. He makes me new. 2 Corinthians 5:17 says, “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.” In Christ, I have been redeemed and made new!!!! Praise the Lord!

All this being said, it doesn’t really matter to me if you happen today or not. I’m prepared to stand before the Lord because I’ve chosen to play on Jesus’ team. I’d prefer you not be today because I know too many people playing for the other team that I’d love to see become believers, but I don’t get to make those calls…thankfully! Regardless, you will happen one day. If not in our lifetime, we’re all going to die eventually. Which ever comes first, we’re going to stand before the Lord and be separated into experiencing God’s wrath or His mercy. Harold Camping may or may not be right about today, but I hope his prediction will lead people to question their standing with God. We all have our own souls to consider. Which team are you playing for?

Enjoying the ‘last day of the world’ by cleaning cabins for summer,

Sinner saved by God’s grace

{Photo Attribution}

Leave a Reply

