h1

Letter #274: It’s a Small World…

July 2, 2011

Dear world,

I’m always amazed at how small you really are. Honestly, I’ve stood on ski slopes, beaches and tthe Mount of Olives and bumped into people I know or that know people I know. Honestly, out of 6-7 billion people, what are the odds?!

As cool as that is, I love your smallness even more when it comes to camp. Just today I ran into three families that reminded meof your smallness. 1) My sorority advisor’s (I was on council and got to know her well!) pledge sister who was picking up her daughter who happened to be in basketball with me. 2) I happened to be walking to the office and ran into a couple from my hometown picking up their grandson. My sister and bro-in-law are best friends with the couple’s son. 3) My oldest sister’s neighbors. I found out that a camper was from Edmond, then she told me her neighborhood name…same as my sister’s! After meeting her parents, we realized they live WAY closer than originally thought…like maybe even the same street! Jam, I found you a babysitter!

All this to say, we make comments about you being small all the time. Reality, you’re not that small, but in situations where we run into the few people we know in situations and are able to make connections it sure is fun. I’m not sure I have a shy bone in my body, but being able to make these kinds of connections makes me even less shy. Moral of the story: if you know me, send your kid to camp so I can see you! Kidding…I mean, really, you should send your kid to camp, but for way more reasons than seeing me. Real moral of the story: don’t be afraid to chat with people and find fun connections. It sure is fun!

It’s a small world after all,

Connection Connector

Leave a Reply

